Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-12-2013

scalvo is on a distinguished road
First live aboard

Hi,

I got laid off and got a nice severance package. I have been sailing for 3 years now (I'm 31) and have been dreaming about owning a boat since the first day. However, paying rent and moorage is very expensive here in Vancouver, BC. So I've looked at boats to live aboard. I have never lived on a boat but somehow I feel the call to do it. How hard is it to adjust to living aboard? I live in an 1br 550sq ft. apartment by myself, dont own crazy stuff, but some furniture and a bunch of clothes, books and so on...

I have seen this ad and its seems pretty interesting.
26 ft Grampian sailboat Free Moorage ( Many upgrades) Moving

What do you guys think? Boat? (Grumpian, size, ...), Price?, The free moorage? The idea in general?

Thanks,
Sam
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-12-2013
formerly posting as eryka

wingNwing is on a distinguished road
Re: First live aboard

Hi Sam, LOTS of folks live on boats and the reasons are as varied as they are -- love of sailing and the water, desire to get off the grid, plans for a cruising adventure, or just saving money and getting away from the consumerist madness -- all are valid. Husband and I have lived on a 33-footer for 11 years now, first at the dock and now traveling leisurely up and down the US East Coast and Bahamas.

In looking at your specific choice of boat, the ad seems to list a lot of features that make the boat good for sailing, but what about heating/cooling, hot water, refrigeration, sleeping accomodations, whatever you require that makes you comfortable for long-term living? Only you can figure out what features are important for you.