SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Cruising & Liveaboard Forum (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/cruising-liveaboard-forum/)
-   -   How to go for 1 or 2 year cruise? (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/cruising-liveaboard-forum/117450-how-go-1-2-year-cruise.html)

LaVarlope 01-16-2014 08:13 AM

How to go for 1 or 2 year cruise?

Hello everyone, Im a long time reader of this forum but never really post anything. I in a point in my life where I considere taking 1 or 2 year off to travel and clear my head and look for new opportunity and horizon.

I am new to sailling, I have a Tanzer 7.5 that i bought 2 years ago and i have been sailling the st-laurence river in Québec city for 2 years now. The river is fun to sail but can also be challenging with the 20' tide that we have.

I would like to go cruising for 1 year or 2, got some money aside +/-75k. What would you suggest I do. I look at different option. I shop for a 28 to 35' boat around 20 to 30k. I wonder if I should cross the atlantic from halifax to azores than go to carrabean or cross form Florida to carrabean. I have zero open water experience I read alot on the subject.

English is my secong language so excuse the many grammatical error that i probably did.

Im looking for guidance, idea, tips on where should I start if I want to go cruising.

Thank you!

krisscross 01-16-2014 08:35 AM

Re: How to go for 1 or 2 year cruise?

Good plan. Go south, dude. Warm water, palm trees and nekkid women. If you can't find yourself there... it will be grim... ;)
I would sail relatively close to the shore until you get to Florida. Standard Thorny Path route from there.

LaVarlope 01-16-2014 08:58 AM

Yeah south is a good idea, I was wondering if buying a boat already there (carrabean) is a good idea?

Is it too expensive outfitting a boat overthere? Would you advice against it?

azguy 01-16-2014 09:08 AM