7Likes
  • 1 Post By s2MNsailor
  • 5 Post By deltaten
  • 1 Post By CalebD

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 01-16-2014 Thread Starter

Superior to Champlain

Hello,

Long time lurker on this website but first post. My goal for the summer of 2014 is to relocate my boat from Bayfield, WI (Apostle Islands) to Plattsburgh (Lake Champlain). I have a window of June 1st (potentially a week earlier) to August 15th. I have a couple questions and concerns before I start actually planning. I will be sailing solo the majority of the trip in a 24 foot s2 7.3 with a shoal draft (3 ft). I have no experience navigating lock waterways, but I will be able to easily drop my mast and store it on the boat. I have a reliable 7.5 HP outboard.

Ideally I would like to avoid sailing overnight due to overnight inexperience solo'ing. I understand this will keep me hugging the shores. I have the budget to stay at marinas - and I have adequate anchoring experience if I can find good anchorages. Will this time frame work? I tried to map out the nautical miles and calculate time but with weather and time needed for locks I am unsure what time frame I am looking at. I am willing to motor in light wind days.

Another question is whether to go up St. Lawrence and then down into Lake Champlain or to enter from the south - Champlain canal. My concern with the St. Lawrence is the tide - having most my sailing experience on Superior. Also how difficult would navigating the canals solo be?

I have been trying to search blogs for similar trips. Maybe departing more popular cities (Chicago, Detroit). Does anyone know of such blogs or web postings?

Thanks
blowinstink likes this.
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 01-16-2014

Re: Superior to Champlain