BEST Sailing in Florida for possible relocation from New England - SailNet Community

Search Sailnet:

forums  store  

Quick Menu
Forums           
Articles          
Galleries        
Boat Reviews  
Classifieds     
Search SailNet 
Boat Search (new)

Shop the
SailNet Store
Anchor Locker
Boatbuilding & Repair
Charts
Clothing
Electrical
Electronics
Engine
Hatches and Portlights
Interior And Galley
Maintenance
Marine Electronics
Navigation
Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-20-2006

evogel is on a distinguished road
BEST Sailing in Florida for possible relocation from New England

My husband and I have been sailing for about four years in New England from Bal Harbor in ME to Newport in RI. We have a great time and take at least one long trip each summer. We are considering moving to Florida and would like to know where are the best sailing locations there so we can look into possible locations to live. Any suggestions would be welcomed. We sailed in Tampa last week but did not find the coast as charming as in New England. I guess we are spoiled with so much to do up north but only six months out of the year.

Thanks,

Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-20-2006

h20ski is on a distinguished road
Biscayne Bay has great sailing but is certainly not charming. but you would be close to the Keys for some great, longer trips.
Old 03-20-2006
moderate?

camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough
Tampa has the best sailing community it seems. The keys are great IF you have a shallow (4-4.5') draft and can get around inside. Biscayne Bay is great if you like having a great big city nearby....but the best place for sailboats is about 50 miles east in the Bahamas!
Old 03-21-2006