Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-24-2014

mbauer013 is on a distinguished road
Question on Cruising Job

Alright, so it's after April 15 and I'm sure everyone would rather forget about this subject, but I'm trying to figure out how I can go cruising before retirement age and have a specific question for the folks on this board.

Being a US citizen I know I have to file taxes every year whether I'm in the states or not, and I assume most if not all other US cruisers actually do it. My question is how do you do it?

The reason for my question is I am a CPA and have thought about this as a potential income source while cruising. I'd be able to offer tax services such as preparation, filing and some planning to cruisers in-situ so you don't have to worry about your CPA at home getting them done, and I would have a better eye on what issues would effect cruisers. I'd probably do it cheaper than most as well since I wouldn't have to have things like an office, secretary staff, etc. Would that even interest anyone in the cruising community, or am I going down a futile path here?

Thanks for any input you may have, if this is possible, it may make my dream a reality sooner.

- Matt
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-24-2014
Catamarans are the best

Location: North Dakota -the land of ice and snow and 650,000 other people
Subaqua is on a distinguished road
Re: Question on Cruising Job

everyone who's taxes are complicated probably have someone in the states taking care of it for them, and those who's taxes aren't so complicated are probably using turbotax. I think turbotax would be your competition.
Old 04-24-2014
A mod and her dragon

DRFerron is on a distinguished road

Can a CPA practice in any state once becoming a CPA? Is it unlike law where you pass a state bar to be able to practice in that state?