Bluewater with no engine? - SailNet Community
 74Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 119 Old 01-04-2015 Thread Starter

Bluewater with no engine?

G'day guys

I've browsed around here heaps recently, but finally took the step and signed up!

First, I have some small boat sailing experience years ago, but nothing like deepwater sailing. The reason I'm asking this is because I've come across something I can't stop thinking about...

I'm in Fiji at the moment, and chatting to a bloke in a bar the other night who happens to be selling the Columbia 34' I've been staring at for a days. kitted out, new gear, ready to go, except the engine has carked it (rusted out raw water intake).

He's happy and willing to spend a month or so with me around here teaching me everything I can learn. The issue is that I'd really need to work a bit before I can replace the engine.

My question is: Is it realistic to sail from Fiji to east coast Oz (probably via Vanuatu) with no motor? Would it be difficult, or seriously unsafe? Part of me says that people did this for many, many years, so if there's a good reason not to, please explain!

Wifi is hard to come by sometimes, but I'll check in on this soon. Cheers for the help!

-Sam
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 119 Old 01-04-2015
Living the dream

Re: Bluewater with no engine?

The Pardeys could do it, but with limited sailing experience it would be very risky although, come to think about it, so is that Russian guy in the South Pacific at the moment.

All in all, I'd say "no way!" but it is possible if you're bold/foolhardy/crazy enough. Also don't forget that you'll need a reliable electrical charging source to run all you comms and nav gear. I'd also make sure what's left of the boat is up for the job if funds are tight.

Sent from my GT-P1000 using Tapatalk 2
post #3 of 119 Old 01-04-2015
islander bahama 24