LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-24-2006

rossir is on a distinguished road
Did I miss the boat?

Hello to everyone out there! My name is Rick, and I
have deveolped a very strong case of the
wannabe/gonnabe sailor blues. The trouble is, I am
starting this a bit late in life, it seems. I am 52,
and I am just a novice. I have a dinghy (bluejay)
that I have taken out just a few times in the last
month, and I have been reading a surfing voraciously
about cruising. I also have signed up with the Power
Squadron in my area, and am taking an engine
maintenance course now, and a seamanship course next
month (all that is available!). I've also crewed a
couple of times this fall, but I live in the northeast
and the season has come to a close.

The thing is, I have this dream to end up live and
cruising on a sailboat. It will prpbably take 4 years
as I have 2 children who live with me full-time and my
youngest is 4 years away from college. I will be 56
by then - and I wonder if I will be too old as my
plans now only include me, no partner. I have never
been offshore in a small boat, though am able, in good
shape, and resourceful. I have every intention of
learning all that I can - perhaps taking one of those
week-long liveaboard courses that ofer ASA
certificaiton. Certainly, from the armchair side, I
am a very good researcher, avid learner, and am
committed to learn all I can about systems,
engineering, structure, etc.

Any suggestions out there? Anyone in Connecticut,
where I live?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-24-2006
Wandering Aimlessly

PBzeer has a spectacular aura about PBzeer has a spectacular aura about PBzeer has a spectacular aura about