Looking for help planning trip: Mobile, AL to carribbean in May / June - SailNet Community

Search Sailnet:

forums  store  

Quick Menu
Forums           
Articles          
Galleries        
Boat Reviews  
Classifieds     
Search SailNet 
Boat Search (new)

Shop the
SailNet Store
Anchor Locker
Boatbuilding & Repair
Charts
Clothing
Electrical
Electronics
Engine
Hatches and Portlights
Interior And Galley
Maintenance
Marine Electronics
Navigation
Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2006

Pelham is on a distinguished road
Looking for help planning trip: Mobile, AL to carribbean in May / June

Greetings,

I'm new to cruising, and am beginning the process of putting together a trip leaving from Mobile, AL and heading down to the Carribbean. We'll leave in early May and return to Mobile around mid - late June. I have no particular requirements for destinations but thought the Bahamas would be an easy stop, US/BVIs might be nice if we can make it that far down & back in the timeframe..

I've got about 6 weeks to get the boat down and back. As I've never made the trip, I'd be grateful for any suggestions on places to go, and any suggestions on a reasonable general itinerary that wouldn't be too rushed given my timeframe.

I also may have friends fly down to meet us for a week or two, so it'd be nice to end up a few times at locations with good transportation access to/from the USA.

Though I'm not yet experienced at offshore passage, I will have several crew members who are.

This will be my first try at something like this - so I'd greatly appreciate any advice - general or specific!

Thanks,
Pelham
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 11-06-2006
Best Looking MALE Mod