SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Purchasing a boat under LLC (Florida).

3K views 25 replies 9 participants last post by  Minnewaska 
#1 ·
As the title indicates I'm investigating purchasing a sailboard and using the vessel as an office. I'm a consultant that primarily that maintains contact on on-line and would like to explore the coast a bit while regularly working aboard.

That would mean I also intend to liveaboard the vessel. I'm not sure how this would affect my ability to deduct expenses related to the vessel.

I've read many threads on this site addressing interest and such for a primary residence, and I believe one that indicated it needed a permanent galley and head.

Not sure I can do what I want to do. Buy a vessel, outfit it as an office, and work while in port and sail on off-days.

Does anyone has first hand experience with this issue?

Cheers,

W.

#3 ·
In reality, there is no difference in using a boat as an office, or purchasing an office on dry ground. The write-offs are the same. I did this as an outdoor writer, writing for two dozen publications, both weekly and monthlies, for the better part of 30 years. It's not the location or construction of the office that constitutes the write-off capabilities. There are marina offices that sit at the ends of piers that have the same write-offs. Are they any different than a marina office sitting on dry ground? In my case, I generated 100 percent of my writing income from writing stores on boating, fishing, conservation and the outdoors in general. The boat provided me with the ability to go to locations to catch those fish, photograph others in boating and fishing activities, and with the aid of a PC onboard, I was able to send those articles directly to the publisher via email. Every aspect of the boat was a write-off.