Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-27-2001
HANUMAN

RobGallagher is on a distinguished road
Hudson River Cuise

Hello,

In July ''02 I am planning a cruise from Stonington, CT up the Hudson River to Catskill, NY.

My route will take me to the Hudson via LI Sound to the East River then up the Harlem River.

I am looking for information from anyone who has made this trip or a similar one.

I have plenty of boating experience, but I am new to sailing (I have completed the ASA courses in sailing and navigation). This spring I will be getting alot of shakedown time before embarking on my trip.

Rob Gallagher
C&C 30 "Trysail"
Pawcatuck CT
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 11-29-2001

SHIMSHON is on a distinguished road
Hudson River Cuise

Great Trip but why not do it in the fall with the change of leaves--very pretty, especially Hudson Valley area (West Point to Tivoli Bay) You will find very little wind at that time of year and it will be very hot and humid. I don''t think you want to go through the Harlem River since there are special requirements and advance notification for bridge openings. Go down the East River and around The Battery and then up the Hudson--get to see a lot more ie. UN Plaza, Ellis Island, Statue of Liberty, South Street Seaport etc. Watch out for the ferry boats when going around the Battery. Lots of Marinas and plenty of anchorages. You should have reservations at the Marinas. Neat places--Bear Mountain, Garrison, Cold Spring, West Point, Norrie Point Marina,Roundout Creek (Kingston). Any other questions?just ask. There is also a very eclectic group of boats and people who usually stay at the 79th Street Boat Basin in the Hudson River-you might want to reserve a mooring there and it is a good stoping point going from the Sound and around lower Manhattan before preceeding up the Hudson (it is south of the GW Bridge).
Old 11-30-2001