Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-21-2006

Kernix is on a distinguished road
sleep while solos cruising?

Newbie here - will be taking my first sailing classes in the spring may buy a cheap 12-16' sail boat to practice on during the summer - anywho

If you are sailing solo do you always stop somewhere to sleep, or do you take a nap while the cockpit is unmanned. Also, I hear of peeps who sailf from the US to say the Mediterranean - even if it's a couple that's making that trip, does each person take 12 hour shifts, or unmanned? I mean there's no where to anchor.

I was reading an article about the Velux solo race around the world where one guy was taking a 4hr power na[p when he was awakened by a distress call - another competitor behind him capsized as they were both in rough seas rounding cape hope - just happened a few wks ago. Now I'm sure these guys have top of the line boats (with sponsors for all the best equipment and their boats gets some serious performance tests) but man how could you fall asleep in rough seas knowing no one is maning the ship?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 12-21-2006
moderate?

camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough
Kernix..out at sea and away from shipping lanes, most single handers sllep comfortably while the boat continues on under wind vane steering. Closer to shore or in the lanes, many use a radar range alarm to alert them when anything is nearby. Others power nap continuously using a kitchen timer to wake them every 15 minutes for a look around. Some will heave to and others will keep sailing. Everyone is different as is every boat so sailors work out what seems to be best for them...but we all need sleep.