SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

is this folly?

8K views 78 replies 21 participants last post by  Capt Len 
#1 ·
hi all,

obviously i am new here, and i am also a novice sailor. i am however a fairly experienced adventurer. so i just wanted to get some thoughts/feedback on an idea i had to see if you guys with much more sea experience think it's a bad idea.

here's what i want to do: i am going to be building a larger, more open water friendly version on a pd racer. then i want to take her from Traverse Bay to Beaver Island. part of this idea is to see how much i can get away with doing things without electrical aids, and as such would be doing the open water part with only a compass.

hahahaha, i am sure most of you are already shaking your heads and thinking i am dumb for even entertaining this notion. and you are probably right. but what I am looking for is some real constructive criticism about things to keep in mind that might help me from drowning. thanks for any feedback all, and have a good one...

:ship-captain:

#2 ·
It's a bad idea.

#3 ·
There's a lot of room left in your post for interpretation.

First of all, the electronics issue is a total non issue, I am sure people familiar with the area sail to Beaver Island all the time without electronics. I don't think finding a large populated island 32 miles offshore without electronics would even qualify as unique or challenging. However, I would strongly consider carrying some emergency rescue electronics like a spot or an EPIRB in case you do get into trouble.