Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-17-2007

kptmorgan04 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to kptmorgan04
Question Cape May, NJ & CD Canal

Cape May is actually my home, but I have little cruising experience there and am about to buy a boat so would like to know more about it as far as anchorages and slips at marinas go. The boat will draw 5'7" and has an air draft of 48'.
I plan on delivering my boat, a 1981 Scylla 36' Center Cockpit Ketch, from Annapolis up the C&D Canal and down to Cape May in June. Any suggestions? How long will it take, anything I need to know before hand? This will be my first trip after doing some cruising in the Chesapeake to work out any kinks.
Thanks for your help!
Jake
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-17-2007
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
Good idea to work out the kinks in the relatively benign confines of the Chesapeake, rather than say on the Delaware river... where things can get interesting awfully fast.

Make sure the fuel system is in top shape... polish the fuel, check the raw water strainer and impeller, carry several spare filters for the Racor—it does have a Racor, right?? You'll probably be motoring on the canal and on the Delaware quite a bit.

Get tide tables for the Delaware, because the current is fairly strong there, make sure you're going with it as much as possible.

Watch out, the New Jersey coast isn't really friendly if the weather is bad... so check your weather window twice before committing to going out.