Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-26-2007

georgef is on a distinguished road
dream of cruising

Since I can remember I have dream of cruising. Now I’m 45 and feel ready to do it. I have little to no experience as a sailor and would like to hear opinions on where to start, what to read, schools to attend or any other advice an expert sailor would give to a “wannabe” like me.
Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 04-26-2007
Larus Marinus

Idiens is on a distinguished road
Read Read Read.

Suggest you start with Annie Hill's "Voyaging on a small income" just to get you really fired up.
Old 04-26-2007

Freesail99 will become famous soon enough
Send a message via Yahoo to Freesail99
I think step one would be to take a few sailing lessons and see if sailing is really for you. My son loves to "look" at sailboats but gets sea sick the moment he steps abroad one. You could also offer the crew on someones boat. Join a sailing club.

Fair Winds
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 04-26-2007
A little less cheek

ianhlnd will become famous soon enough ianhlnd will become famous soon enough
Georgef:
get a boat, lifejacket, radio and go! Depending on where you're at, to go north keep the land on the left, south, right. Get lost, pull over and ask someone.

Although the most complicated sport on earth, we try to complicate it more, when in reality it's really simple. Tune yourself into the weather, water, and adjust accordingly. School is good to learn the terminology, and some techniques, most everything else you can learn yourself, what you learn may be cheap or it may be expensive, the expensive things are the ones you learn best.

Don't let anybody throw dirt on your dream.
Old 04-26-2007
Banned

eryka is on a distinguished road