SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Cruising & Liveaboard Forum (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/cruising-liveaboard-forum/)
-   -   Sailing the English Channel (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/cruising-liveaboard-forum/34043-sailing-english-channel.html)

henrystanley 06-25-2007 02:12 PM

Sailing the English Channel

I am new to yachting - my second season , previously sailed dinghies . I plan to take the big step of sailing from Ramsgate to Calais ,possibly short - handed . The furthest i have sailed before now is to Dover. Have any of you folk out there got some local advice ( pearls of wisdom ) , i.e way points , tides ,wind hazards etc . I have the RYA Yachtmaster Theory .

X
Ta .

Valiente 06-25-2007 03:07 PM

Only ever transited on the cross-channel ferry, years back, but I know it's a section of water subject to numerous tidal influences, sandbars, opposing winds, loads of sometimes oblivious traffic (see Practical Boat Owner's article on "Ouzo" this month and the accident report here: http://www.ybw.com/pbo/pdfs/fullreport.pdf).

Nigel Calder's book "The English Channel" made me think I'd enjoy the technical aspects of coasting around those parts. I recommend it.

Amazon.com: The English Channel: Books: Nigel Calder

henrystanley 06-27-2007 03:10 PM

Many thanks , but i certainly hope i dont suffer the same fate as the Ouzo crew !

ta

tdw 06-27-2007 07:10 PM

I'd think Nigel Calder's book would be one to have. I've never sailed across the channel, like Val I've only ever done it by ferry, but from what I've read it is one of the most restricted waterways on the planet. There are strict traffic lanes and any craft crossing these lanes do so at their own peril. Traffic withing the lanes has absolute right of way. again, from what I've read, the idea is to enter the lanes at full speed under power and play nautical dodgems until you are through. The very idea scares the daylights out of me. :)