Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-09-2007

apkaplan is on a distinguished road
Best course from Westbrook CT to Block Island

I am new to crusing and wish to sail my Catalina 27 from Westbrook, CT to Block Island. Some say go through Plum Gut others say The Race. What's the best way, looking for the safest way.

Thanks,

Andrew
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-09-2007

privateer38 is on a distinguished road
From Menunketesuck R. to Block Is.

It looks like a fun week-end sail. The "Plum Gut" route looks to be the most scenic route, but if twilight might catch you in the Gut area I believe the "Race " between Little Gull Is. and Valiant Rock has more hazard clearance. Are you overnighting in Gr. Salt Pond?
Have a blast, Bill
Old 07-09-2007
moderate?

camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough
The Race. Time your tides for a nice fast passage on the ebb. If you want to break up the trip, Fischers Island is a nice spot.

Last edited by camaraderie; 07-09-2007 at 10:00 PM.
Old 07-09-2007

JimsCAL is on a distinguished road
If you are going to make it in one hop, the Race is the way to go. Just make sure you have current tables so you can time the ebb out. You don't want to be fighting the flood trying to exit the Race. If you want to take it in two smaller steps, another choice is go through Fisher Island Sound to Stonington, then exit the next day via the Watch Hill Passage into Block Island Sound. The mileage to Block Island is shortest via the WH Passage. And Fisher Island Sound, Stonington, and Watch Hill are well worth visiting.
Old 07-10-2007

Brezzin is on a distinguished road