Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-10-2007

willykunkle is on a distinguished road
Sustaining your cruising lifestyle???

Hello everybody,

First I waned to thank everybody for all the great advice. I've been sailing for 10 years now but I am quite young (23). I don't have a lot of money, but I am preparing to buy a boat for long term cruising. Based on the advice from members of this community, I have set a goal for how much I need to spend on a boat and preparations, a realistic time frame to shoot for, and what to look for in a boat. That is not the problem.

I'm not worried about being able to travel long term as far as surviving on little money goes, what I'm worried about is when I want to buy a larger boat for more serious cruising. If I am sailing instead of working, how will I ever be able to upgrade?

I would like to ask how people here have made this possible? I don't really want to wait until retirement before I set out, but I would also like to be able to eventually buy a boat capable of major ocean passages.

Any advice???

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 10-10-2007

willykunkle is on a distinguished road
Also

In addition, I am still in the very early stages of research. I'm just trying to figure out how to make something like this possible.

Thanks!
Old 10-10-2007
No I dont remember

Raggbagger is on a distinguished road
Sail a little , work a little , sell boat , work a lot , work somemore , skrimp save plot and plan , work more , find bluewater boat , prep boat , prep self , prep funds to cruise ( means work ). Go cruise . Come back and repeat as needed.