Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-15-2008

buckeyesailor is on a distinguished road
Can I do This?

Revered Fellow Sailneters,

I was a member many years ago but lost touch. Can't tell you how much I've learned on here.....Thanks for that....but...

Assuming very limited sailing experience, but open to some abuse in the learning process....financial, physical, mental.....possibly even marital...

Considering singlehanding a $3,000 (semi-disposable) 30' Pearson or similar boat and doing Florida/Keys/Bahamas for next winter....probably 3 or 4 months with a slim budget ($6,000 for the trip). Only essentials are food and drink, and communications home.

I'm a decent cook and a great Carpenter/Electrician/Plumber....work possible?

I'm 56 and can't wait any longer to see more of this big marble than continental US. I did spend a couple of years in Central America back in the day (Navy).

I've learned more in my life by trying things that I didn't know I couldn't do.

Either shoot me or try to convince me I can't do this.....please.

Thanx, Willy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 03-15-2008
Wandering Aimlessly

PBzeer has a spectacular aura about PBzeer has a spectacular aura about PBzeer has a spectacular aura about
If the boat is sound, the systems reliable, then I see no reason you can't. My budget for the year is 6k, so that should last, barring boat problems, for 3-4 months. With those skills, I don't think you'd have a problem getting work.

Best of luck to you.

Free, is the heart, that lives not, in fear.
Full, is the spirit, that thinks not, of falling.
True, is the soul, that hesitates not, to give.
Alive, is the one, that believes, in love.
JCP

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- Website & Blog