Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-15-2008

Duxburysailor is on a distinguished road
Cruising in a catboat

Hello to all.
I am new here and have been looking around for a few days and see a lot of good advice;
My name is George and I live on the so shore in Ma.
My question would be....
Has anyone done any extended cruising in a Marshall catboat?
I am contemplating moving up to the 22 from an 18 ft and cruising to Fla. maybe Bahamas.
How sea worthy is a 22 ft Marshall catboat? Big enough to cross the stream?
Is there enoughf room for 2 for an extended cruise?
I have been sailing for about 5 years and am ready to start cruising...
Thanks in advance........George

Last edited by Duxburysailor; 04-15-2008 at 08:21 AM. Reason: new heading
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-15-2008
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
Yes, extended cruising can be done in a catboat. I'd highly recommend you read Catboat Summers, by John Conway, which is about just that. He sailed various catboats out of the Buzzards Bay area. I don't see why you couldn't cross the Gulf Stream to the islands, provided you timed it properly with a good weather window.

To cruise with two people aboard a 22' catboat would require that the two be very friendly.

I'd also recommend you read the post in my signature to help you get the most out of your time on sailnet.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Telstar 28
New England

You know what the first rule of sailing is? ...Love. You can learn all the math in the 'verse, but you take