Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-20-2008

FollySailor is on a distinguished road
South Carolina to the Bahamas

Hello to everyone! I am new to the sailnet forums and would like a couple of pointers on cruising to the Bahamas.

I live in Charleston, SC and am planning on taking my 22 foot Catalina south to the Bahamas.

Given the size of my vessel, I am planning on sailing the intracoastal waterway the entire way south. But crossing the stream is the only thing I haven't done before, and would like a couple pointers.

I understand that people wait for favorable wind at some places in Florida, like Virginia Key and outside of Miami Beach. I would like to wait with a group and cross over with them, where would be the best place for me to go so that I can follow some people over?

Also, where do I check-in and get my paperwork in order. I plan on sailing around the Bahamas for the following couple of months and know I need to get some sort of a cruising license. Can I get that in Freeport, and what is the process?

Thanks ahead of time for any and all help!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-20-2008
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
FollySailor-

There are quite a few threads on crossing the Gulf Stream and making your way to the Bahamas. A search for Abacos will likely find many of them.

Jimmy Cornell's website, www.Noonsite.com will have detailed information on checking in and such for most of the countries you'd be interested in sailing to. I"d highly recommend you check them out.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Telstar 28
New England