Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-23-2008

brady5 is on a distinguished road
Need Advice for First Time Cruising

I am very new to sailing. It has been a long time dream to learn and I got my chance this summer in San Diego.

Now, my wife and I are wanting to plan an extended sailing trip this next summer with our 3 children. We want to spend at least a month out, maybe 3 months.

We need advice on a good location for newbies. We would like to buy a boat and start cruising from the same place.

Plan on starting in May or June.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 09-23-2008
Living & Cruising on Dana

Robby Barlow is on a distinguished road
Welcome brady... seems rather difficult to answer your fairly precise question, but if considering to buy and start sailing, Clear Lake Shores may be a place to look.
Old 09-23-2008

Lostmt is on a distinguished road
Hi Brady,
We are learning to sail out in Matagorda Bay. Very little traffic with worlds of close places to sail to as we learn. We keep out Starwind in a slip in Port Lavaca and live in Port O'Connor.
Old 09-23-2008
Cruising

RandyonR3 is on a distinguished road
If I were just starting out, I think I'd give someone like "Sun Sail" a call and maybe charter a boat for the time out.. being you're just starting out, buying a boat and getting it ready to cruise is a big undertaking, not that it cant be done, just very time consuming.......
It took us almost 6 years to find the boat we wanted and another 4 to get it ready to go......... after 10 years, we're ready to cut the lines...
Old 09-23-2008

MoonSailer is on a distinguished road