SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Cruising & Liveaboard Forum (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/cruising-liveaboard-forum/)
-   -   Confused non-resident (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/cruising-liveaboard-forum/47547-confused-non-resident.html)

sab30 09-28-2008 08:37 PM

Confused non-resident

I cant seem to find an answer to my question. My wife and I currently in Canada plan on purchasing our next boat for cruising within the next year. We would probably purchase in the US most likely CA. The boat will never return to Canada as the west coast sail up doesnt appeal to us. We would probably leave the boat in CA during trip back to Canada to see family (and required every 6 months) Taxes are also lower in CA than in Canada.

If I purchase a boat in California where the primary use will be can I pay the taxes register it in the state even if Im a non resident?

If we decide to cruise if it is regsistered in CA would there be a requirement on having the boat back in the state or do they care as long as the taxes are paid and the boat is regsitered?

Any link or comments would be appreciated...

sailingdog 09-28-2008 09:06 PM

I think it would make more sense to register it in Canada rather than California, since, if you decide to go to Mexico, you're might have a problem with a CA-state registered boat, and being Canadian. Just some food for thought.

You probably wouldn't have to pay any import duties on the boat, if it doesn't enter Canadian waters, but would probably have to get an annual cruising permit for your boat.

ckgreenman 09-28-2008 09:22 PM

What about registering with the USCG?

sailingdog 09-28-2008 09:30 PM

If they're non-residents... they're not US citizens...and USCG documentation requires US citizenship by at least 51% of the ownership.

sab30 09-28-2008 09:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sailingdog (Post 376701)