Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-28-2008

sab30 is on a distinguished road
Confused non-resident

I cant seem to find an answer to my question. My wife and I currently in Canada plan on purchasing our next boat for cruising within the next year. We would probably purchase in the US most likely CA. The boat will never return to Canada as the west coast sail up doesnt appeal to us. We would probably leave the boat in CA during trip back to Canada to see family (and required every 6 months) Taxes are also lower in CA than in Canada.

If I purchase a boat in California where the primary use will be can I pay the taxes register it in the state even if Im a non resident?

If we decide to cruise if it is regsistered in CA would there be a requirement on having the boat back in the state or do they care as long as the taxes are paid and the boat is regsitered?

Any link or comments would be appreciated...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sab30
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 09-28-2008
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
I think it would make more sense to register it in Canada rather than California, since, if you decide to go to Mexico, you're might have a problem with a CA-state registered boat, and being Canadian. Just some food for thought.

You probably wouldn't have to pay any import duties on the boat, if it doesn't enter Canadian waters, but would probably have to get an annual cruising permit for your boat.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Telstar 28
New England