Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-12-2008
I don't discuss my member

zz4gta is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Delmarva 2009

Just as the title says. I wanted to gauge interest in doing a circumnavigation trip around the delmarva peninsula. I'd prefer to do it in my own boat and wanted to look for crew crazy enough to do it with me, or crew for a larger boat. Worst case would be for me to get a fleet of boats together for the trip which would greatly increase the safety factor. It takes about a week, allow 2 weeks for weather, rest, and a chance to visit areas along the bay. I've never done an offshore trip before. That seems to have me thinking twice about it, but I don't believe that its an unreachable goal. Most people I've talked to say that a spartan 25' boat has no business cruising the coast. If I'm crazy, please feel free to let me know, as I appreciate all advice and opinions. Merits have done trips to HI from CA and sailed back (single handed mind you) without incident.

If looking to crew for me, I'd be more than happy to explain the provisions (or lack there of) of the boat and my experience. Seems that the most difficult part of the trip would be from ocean city to the mouth of the bay. Its about 140 miles of coastal cruising and around 440 miles total.

Thanks for reading.
Old 11-12-2008

chucklesR is a jewel in the rough chucklesR is a jewel in the rough chucklesR is a jewel in the rough
If the timing is right we'll join you on our boat for the Annapolis to either the Sassafras/Delaware Canal area or Norfolk leg, can't see taking two weeks off next summer.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-13-2008

badsanta is on a distinguished road