Not a Member? 

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By killarney_sailor
  • 1 Post By Valiente

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-07-2009

py26129 is on a distinguished road
Sandbanks, Lake Ontario

I am looking for some information regarding anchoring at Sandbanks in Lake Ontario. The lake side is very exposed and I am looking for any information that may be available about West Lake. I.e. what depth is available in the lake. Is it possible to get to the Dunes after going into West Lake at Wellington? Can one anchor close to the dunes? We have a sailboat that draws 4.5 feet.

Many thanks in advance

Matt
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-07-2009

sailortjk1 has a spectacular aura about sailortjk1 has a spectacular aura about
The Inlet at Westlake looks very shallow from this Areal View.

Westlake Inlet - Ontario, Canada

I have no local or first hand knowledge, but Marinas.com is a very nice tool.

In some of the views of West Lake Marina you can see some sailboats, so it should be possible.
Still looks real shallow from the areal photo's.

West Lake Marina in Ontario, Canada

If a man is to be obsessed by something, I suppose a boat is as good as anything, perhaps a bit better than most - E.B. White

Last edited by sailortjk1; 01-07-2009 at 11:16 AM.
Old 01-07-2009
Bristol 45.5 - AiniA

killarney_sailor is on a distinguished road
Check locally

Many years ago I got into Wellington with my Hughes 22 with the board up - draft was something like 28 inches and we scraped our way in. There was a very nice government dock inside that we spent the night at and many locals came to see the big boat that was visitting. You could also anchor inside the lagoon - you would have to be careful with depths though.