Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-29-2009
Well-wisher

pschoonveld is on a distinguished road
Hudson River / Long Island Sound

Hello,

I'm planning on bringing my Ericson 27 to the Hudson River from the Great Lakes in a few months and was hoping for some information.

I plan on coastal cruising out of Jersey City, NJ and keeping the boat registered in Michigan. As I'm new to salt water, I was wondering what the best source of current information for the Hudson and East Rivers would be. I already picked up Richardsons' Cruising Guides for LI Sound and the south shore. Any other useful cruising charts I should look for?

As well, are there any regulations I should be aware of? I see NJ has a mandatory boat license, but I can't determine whether it's required for tidal waters (the information looks conflicting to me). As well, I remain with a Michigan driver's license, so I suspect I can skip that.

Any tips or suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-29-2009

mazzy is on a distinguished road
You'll need the Eldridge Tide & Pilot book, published annually. Also check out activecaptain dot com for lots of local knowledge, marina and anchorage info.

Mike
Old 01-29-2009

danielgoldberg is on a distinguished road
Welcome

Both to Sailnet, and to the area.

There are a few things to note for you.

1. A very good cruising guide for the lower Hudson, New York Harbor and all of Long Island Sound is the Embassy Guide by Maptech. You can get it online from Defender, West Marine, Landfall Navigation, or any other Marine Chandlery. It's chock full of good information and will provide great winter reading.