Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-01-2002

namaste04 is on a distinguished road
Working in the Caribbean: diesel repair

Have read that diesel mechanics can get work fairly often while cruising. I am an experienced automobile mechanic with experience working on Perkins 4-108 (as well as Atomic 4) marine engines. Is my experience sufficient, or would it be beneficial to get ASE Diesel Certification???
Neil
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 11-01-2002

WHOOSH is on a distinguished road

N:

IME in most locations (U.S. islands excluded) your issue isn''t certification but rather a govt. work permit. Your ''market'' is the anchorage and quietly scaring up jobs amongst the yachties. Alternatively, you''ll need a sponsor (e.g. charter operation or yacht maintenance company) to seek a permit on your behalf.

In the U.S. islands (USVI, PR) the challenge will be to break into the local network. Employment is tough down there and jobs go first to islanders, in most cases.

Jack
Old 11-03-2002

pirateofcapeann is on a distinguished road

I was told a while ago, that down in the USVI and surrounding areas, the locals don''t want to put in an honest 40 and most visitors just want to be tourists! This left a real big labor deficit down there! This came from some cruising friends who were working at one of the big hotels there. One as a bartender and his wife worked cleaning the rooms. The owners loved them and gave them everything! Room, meals, vehicle, etc. along with a great paycheck!
I''m a mechanic as well, but I don''t specialize in just engines. “Quietly scaring up jobs” isn’t going to require any licenses or permits. It means being able to do what will pay, from electronics, plumbing, carpentry, sewing, whatever! And don’t just look in the anchorage, but all over the waterfront!