Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2002

JJKennedy is on a distinguished road
Panama

Hi, I am one of many people on this board that is looking to change their life. I am a 20 year old male with some money to spend and I want to spend it sailing around central and south america. I have some small boat sailing experience but will get lots of certs before I try anything. Mainly I am looking for advice on what type of boat I should be looking at. I plan to sail two handed (me and a friend) for some months perhaps as far as Panama and around to Florida (if that is not too impossible) If you were going to buy a boat for less then 30,000 what would you buy, what type of keel, what kind of construction and so on. I was thinking of a 1971 Columbia 39 but know nothing as of yet about her design. I want to know for sure my boat can handle any weather that region could throw at me assuming I stear clear of any hurricanes.
Also I was wondering what kind of money I would be spending, how much money should I budget to live well (spend some time ashore) for each month I plan to be sailing. What kind of time frame am I looking at here if I was going to go around panama to florida from San Diego at 5 knots, anyone hear of someone trying a trip like this, really I don''t know what is and what is not possible.
Thanks for your help.
Jason
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-06-2002

tanzer is on a distinguished road
Panama

If you want to spend $30K, buy a boat for $20K because you will be spending money to bring it up to your standards for the trip.

Here''s a list, not complete but it gives you the idea: http://cruisenews.net/boattypes.html

You will spend between $1000 and $2000 per month. More or less, its pretty much up to you.