Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-15-2009

JasonBewley is on a distinguished road
Registering Your Vessel Without An Address

I've been considering for several years now making the leap and living aboard, and although this is my first posting, I have been reading through these forums for a long time. One question that remains unanswered is how to initially register or renew registration of an average size vessel (20'-30') without a land based address. I supposed the initial registration could be based upon my current address in Indiana, however, after a year of living aboard and no longer having such how could renewal take place? I contacted several East coast state DMV's and all have indicated that an address is required, although I get different answers from different people at the same DMV... Would I require a state recognized liveaboard slip and utilization of the marina's address to remain legal? If so, is there any alternate ways to stay registered while living off the hook, as I don't want the hassle of acquiring and financing a liveaboard slip? Any advice or clarification would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by JasonBewley; 06-15-2009 at 01:47 PM.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-15-2009

tager is on a distinguished road
Each time you register, just tell them the address where the boat is. For instance, Mooring Ball 7, Eagle Harbor, Bainbridge Island, Washington.

It might work. If they don't accept your tax dollars, then just tell the police that when they stop you for expired tabs! HA!
Old 06-15-2009
"Nevis Nice"

hphoen is on a distinguished road