Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2010

StephenBrooks is on a distinguished road
Fraser River Approach

Hi all,

As I plan to live aboard at Shelter island marina in April, I wonder if I could get some help from any of you local sailors on when and how to head up the south arm of the Fraser River from Point Roberts?

I've looked at tide tables for Sand Heads and purchased charts 3463 )Georgia Strait) and 3490 (Sand Heads) but unsure of currents. Seems to me that getting local info is always best.

I am relatively new to sailing and this is my first sailboat.

Thanks

Stephen
Albin Vega 27
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 01-08-2010
Just another Moderator

Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about
I've not done a lot of river travel in years, but generally you'd want to be entering the river on a rising tide to minimize your contrary current. The area around Sand Heads (south arm entrance) is notorious for random currents and confused seas esp in big river flows vs a strong Westerly wind. If you're doing this soon, the river flow will not be too bad as it's been cold in the interior and the runoff is relatively low.

The biggest issue is the deceptive nature of the lay of the land in this area. Leaving Pt Roberts and passing the ferry terminals and coal port there's a strong tendency to think you need to "turn right".. in fact you need to be mindful of the shoals which are a long way off shore - miles, in fact. Your course will carry on almost straight, seeming heading for Powell River to get to Sand Heads. There are markers at the edge of the shoals and a couple of key buoys to keep an eye out for. In foggy or low visibility conditions things are, of course, worse. A handheld GPS is quite helpful here... you just need to believe what it tells you.