Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2010
Make it Happen

pwillems is on a distinguished road
Question Define "bluewater" for me

Hi all,

I am sure this has been discussed before, so feel free to direct me to any relevant threads.

Like many here, I dream of a cruising life after retirement. I have no sailing experience yet, but plenty of experience with small and large power vessels and have had a very vagabond lifestyle since birth. I am quite confident once I get a chance to spend a few weeks on a sailing boat I will never want to get off.

I've been reading a heck of a lot and am wondering what kind of boat I would one day want to spend the rest of my life on. I love the idea of a large cruising cat. Not interested in the mono vs multi debate, I just think that you can not beat the liveability of a large cat. Light, and more importantly the lack of heel while underway are two things that appeal to my wife and myself. This is all very nice, the problem is that a proper bluewater cruising cat like a Chris White will set one back close to a cool million second hand. It seems to me that a proper bluewater monohull such as a Tayana can be had for a whole lot less. Like everyone, I hope to one day be in a position where money will not be the most important factor, but in case it is not, a monohull may be our choice.