Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-16-2010

Relkin is on a distinguished road
Looking into living aboard

Hello All! I am really new to the idea of sailing/boating, but currently thinking about getting rid of a bunch of my things and trying to live aboard a boat.

Would anyone here have any suggestions as to what I should look into getting for a live aboard, what to expect to pay for in keeping the boat afloat, and any other suggestions for someone who hasn't ever piloted a boat before?

Also- I live in south-east Alaska- I hear there is a different type of boat suggested based off of which coast you live on.

Really appreciate any suggestions, thanks!!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 02-16-2010
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
Well, first you should probably get some time on boats of various sorts... You don't even know if you could live on a boat. If you get seasick, and some people get really violently seasick, living on a boat is probably not such a good idea.

The costs can vary quite a bit... as can the boats. From what you've written, I am guessing you have a fairly limited budget, and as such, there are a lot of land-based amenities that you may find you have to give up when moving aboard.

The first of these amenities is space—most boats have fairly limited stowage and space—especially if you're only able to afford a smaller boat.