SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Book Recommendations

4K views 19 replies 16 participants last post by  nailbunnySPU 
#1 ·
Hi All,

My wife and I are both dreaming of the cruising lifestyle later on in life. We are both complete newbies and have 15 to 20 years to make it all the way from where we are now, to seasoned sailors ready to take on a big ocean. I have been devouring books and have learned a fair bit, however, these books have generally been the kind about the technicalities of sailing, navigation and how to select and prepare a bluewater vessel (Nigel Calder's Cruising Handbook has been on my bedside table for a while now).

My wife has started enquiring about what she can read. As much as I enjoy learning about the nitty gritty of owning and maintaining a boat, I am sure she would far prefer something formatted more like a novel. I believe she would prefer to start with something about someone else's adventures at sea and the cruising lifestyle before getting down into the more technical stuff.

Can anyone recommend some good books she might enjoy?

#2 ·
Try Tania Abei's "Maiden Voyage" or Ann Vanderhoof (sp?) "An Embarassment of Mangoes." And congrats on planning to live the dream (it's worth it! Took us almost 10 years from first exposure to living aboard with no permanent address :) )

#5 ·
Thanks guys. Just ordered "An Embarassment of Mangoes" from Amazon.

Eryka, just read your blog... Looks amazing. Tell me, what are your long term plans with the cruising life? Are you and your husband setup to be able to do this indefinitely or do you expect to have to re-integrate into "normal" life at one point or another?

#3 ·
North to the Night by Alvah Simon
Flirting with Mermaids by John Kretschmer
The Coast of Summer by Anthony Bailey