SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Cruising & Liveaboard Forum (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/cruising-liveaboard-forum/)
-   -   Timeline for cruising? (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/cruising-liveaboard-forum/63584-timeline-cruising.html)

utchuckd 04-06-2010 09:08 PM

Timeline for cruising?

Hey all,

First off I want to say I've enjoyed reading the forum, oh, constantly, for the past few days.

I'm trying to put together a plan to get out of Tennessee and onto a boat somewhere south. My first question is how long would it take to go from being a complete novice (one learn to sail course 10 years ago) to being able to go on long weekend or full week trips (or longer)? Could I get there in months? Years? I should be able to spend a lot of time working on it, I just don't know how much time I'm going to have to invest.

Still have many questions, but I'm finding a LOT of info on most of them so far.

sailingdog 04-06-2010 09:19 PM

It depends... if you took some solid sailing courses, you could probably get there in a few months. But you really need to learn a lot to go cruising effectively—fiberglass skills, mechanical skills, plumbing skills, etc., are all really necessary to have to go long-term cruising. The better you know the boat and the more you can repair on it, the better off you'll be.

A good foundation to build your cruising skills on would include the ASA 101, 103, 104, 105 and 106 courses.

It would help if you had a boat after taking the courses so you could practice what you learn in them...

You might want to read Donna Lange's story, as she went from being a novice to circumnavigating in a relatively short period of time.

smackdaddy 04-06-2010 09:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sailingdog (Post 589890)