Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-06-2010

utchuckd is on a distinguished road
Timeline for cruising?

Hey all,

First off I want to say I've enjoyed reading the forum, oh, constantly, for the past few days.

I'm trying to put together a plan to get out of Tennessee and onto a boat somewhere south. My first question is how long would it take to go from being a complete novice (one learn to sail course 10 years ago) to being able to go on long weekend or full week trips (or longer)? Could I get there in months? Years? I should be able to spend a lot of time working on it, I just don't know how much time I'm going to have to invest.

Still have many questions, but I'm finding a LOT of info on most of them so far.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 04-06-2010
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
It depends... if you took some solid sailing courses, you could probably get there in a few months. But you really need to learn a lot to go cruising effectively—fiberglass skills, mechanical skills, plumbing skills, etc., are all really necessary to have to go long-term cruising. The better you know the boat and the more you can repair on it, the better off you'll be.

A good foundation to build your cruising skills on would include the ASA 101, 103, 104, 105 and 106 courses.

It would help if you had a boat after taking the courses so you could practice what you learn in them...

You might want to read Donna Lange's story, as she went from being a novice to circumnavigating in a relatively short period of time.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Telstar 28
New England