Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-01-2010

chall03 will become famous soon enough
Our Sabbatical Cruise

Anyone who has seen or followed some of my sporadic posts on here would know that my wife and I have been toying now for some 5 years with the dream of stopping our lifes and careers for a year or two and going cruising...It has been a dream we have always talked about however I guess we have been reluctant to actually commit to it.

Reality is there has always been reasons not too.... I truly wanted to cruise the world at 22 but really didn't know how to unfold a chart. We got married in our mid 20's and a month later I did buy a small sailboat so I could convince my sea sick prone new bride how good this sailing thing actually was..... Then well there were just good opportunities at work for both off us.....we bought our first house.....then there was another promotion, debt that couldn't be dismissed etc etc.

Well we have both now juts hit our 30s. My 'new bride' 6 years on now races twice a week and I have to book in with her to get her to crew on our yacht! Oh she is now also qualified to RYA Dayskipper standard and a few weekends ago when we were on a friends first 47.7, I looked on in amazement as she confidentally and happily climbed up the mast and pulled down the mainsail in 25 knots offshore. Our careers are both now stable....our finances are a constant balancing act sure but seem to be balancing better than ever before.

So why not now? Is the question we have been asking ourselves.....or more poignantly if not now than will we do it before our 50s or 60s???