Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-20-2003

sailingsundance is on a distinguished road
Green sailor needs advise on docking, an anchor.........

I purchased a beautiful Edel 665 in March and have spent nearly every waking moment bringing her back to life…now that she is finished I am ready to go cruising but before I do I need some advise. First is about docking…Since I am relatively new to sailing and this is my first boat I could use the help. I have to go away for a few weeks this summer and am planning to leave her alone, I will have her slipped at the club in a well protected slip, what precautions should I take to make sure she doesn’t come loose, is this ordinary practice to leave a boat tied up for a week or more??? If so what is the proper way to tie her up. Second I would like to buy a second anchor, my LOA is 22’ and displace about 3000 what size would be good for a boat this size, the sea floor is mostly rocky. One last thing I can’t afford to buy a tender this season, what would you recommend in place???
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-20-2003

DuaneIsing is on a distinguished road

Sailingsundancer,

With questions like those, it would be very helpful for you to buy and read Nigel Calder''s Cruising Handbook. Although his book is geared more toward larger boats, there is much good information in there. Perhaps others can recommend books focusing on smaller boats.

You should be able to seek out knowledgeable sailors in your club where your slip is located, and they can assist you with setting up your docklines. Every situation can be slightly different, but in general you will want to secure the boat so that it isn''t rubbing against anything, including your fenders, if possible. That means using 2 bowlines and 2 stern lines to the finger pier and outboard pilings.