Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-09-2011

BentSailor will become famous soon enough
Making money along the way...

I'm a code-monkey (read: software developer) by trade... and last I heard, they aren't in much demand amongst the better cruising grounds. I don't plan on our cruising years starting out with barely a cent to our names, but sooner or later budgets get blown and I reckon I'll need to earn my way until the next cheque comes through.

Got me thinking, what do people do out there to scrounge a buck or two when running short? Technically, I'm an electrical engineer by qualification, but it's been a while since I actually practised much of what I learnt and, in any case, microchip design and so on also seem uncalled for on the beautiful beaches and islands we intend to visit.

Given I have some time to get trained up before we head out, what would people recommend as a back-up skill?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-09-2011

Zanshin is on a distinguished road
Finding work ashore while cruising is very difficult - legal and qualified work that pays well almost always requires a local visa which is usually practically impossible to get. Doing (illegal) work means that pay rates will be lower and the labour tending more to unskilled, which pays even worse.

Certain skills that you can use on boats with other cruisers might augment your cruising kitty, but most likely not enough to survive. Plumbing, wiring, electrics, radio, welding, fiberglassing and such knowledge is more important than cpp or Java.

I met several liveaboards in St. Martin who did work from their boats for other cruisers, but that boat work wasn't enough to live on.

Cruisers tend to be pretty self-reliant and, I hate to say it, cheap.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.