Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-30-2011

groundhog is on a distinguished road
Advice?

I think my life has hit a cross roads.
Both with my job and with relationships.
As an electrical engineer, I always knew this day would come, the day when you are not so much needed anymore. I just didnt know exactly what day it would be.

Anyway, this could be a time for me to pack what I want into my boat, and waive bye-bye. Problem is, my boat isn't totally ready the way I would like it.
I have been mostly adding features to the boat so far, and this was supposed to be the phase now, where i sharpened my sailing skills. I would classify myself as high level beginner at this point. Not heavy on real experience, but have read stuff.

I have a new harken roller furler with a 150 genoa. I have a new main with 2 reef points, but no reef system yet and nothing led back to the cockpit. I suppose i could get a gale-sail for the forestay and quickly rig the reefing.

So, the question I have for the more experienced sailors is, leave now or just step up the pace in boat work for the next season to leave south?

Thanks for ur valued opinion...
groundhog
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-30-2011

groundhog is on a distinguished road
more info...
27 ft Albin Vega
Single handing
Old 08-30-2011

montenido is on a distinguished road
Groundhog,