Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-27-2011

cookie7777 is on a distinguished road
Which Yacht and Why

Hi all,

I am at base camp on this one, my personal story of how I arrived here is fairly straight forward.

I have lived in S.E. Asia for over 15 yrs now mainly based in Singapore. I have been a avid windsurfer since childhood, recently I've got into Kiteboarding which is all good. Having just got married and a new baby born I am looking for a way to stay out on the water with my family.... So the natural progression into sailing.

I have no experience and I'm about to start sailing lessons. I am looking for a yacht which needs a little freshening up, I am a carpenter and have a small amount of boat building experience, I could undertake a lot of the work myself or if not at least project manage it.

Now the impossible... I am looking for a yacht which is a little run down, I would like to get her up to fully restored condition and at least break even, I'm not going into this as a business venture and I am not expecting to make any money, but at the same time I don't really want to loose any/much, I'm thinking if I put some time and money into a yacht bringing her up to restored condition and my pay back will be to get some free sailing out of her. Please tell me if I'm being hideously deluded and naive.

I have a budget of about $75,000 of which I have worked out that I should only spend about $50,000 on the yacht and save $25,000 for refit, does this sound about right?

I will be looking to mainly cruise around the South China Sea, maybe a trip down to Australia in the future, but that is way off, to start with I intend to spend long weekends aboard.

If anyone has been where I am now, or can recommend a yacht which would fit my budget and expectations I would like to know.

I really am at first base, any comments thoughts or even abuse would be much appreciated