SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Cruising & Liveaboard Forum (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/cruising-liveaboard-forum/)
-   -   Moving Aboard With 4 Guitars (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/cruising-liveaboard-forum/79420-moving-aboard-4-guitars.html)

cranki 10-03-2011 07:28 PM

Moving Aboard With 4 Guitars

I am about to purchase and move aboard a Gulfstar 41 and I plan to bring 4 guitars. "Why so many?" You ask. I am a semi pro player and play in a couple of bands. I have 2 electrics and one acoustic that I regularly take to gigs and rehearsals. These 3 are all good quality, but working guitars worth around $600 each. The 4th is a cheapie acoustic that has always been my boat/camping/beach ax. So for my 3 good guitars, and a tube amplifier, what special considerations or accommodations do I need to make to keep them in decent working order. A bit more info, I am in Connecticut so cold winters and warm humid summers are in store.

Minnewaska 10-03-2011 07:43 PM

How will they endure a highly humid and corrosive salt water environment? Not sure. Sounds risky, unless you protect them in a case with a moisture desiccant inside.

dhays 10-03-2011 07:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Minnewaska (Post 782328)
How will they endure a highly humid and corrosive salt water environment? Not sure. Sounds risky, unless you protect them in a case with a moisture desiccant inside.

I agree. I'd be nervous living on board with my guitars, and they aren't as expensive. Although who knows? I've had them for 40+ years.

The humidity and temperature ranges could be a real issue.

CalebD 10-03-2011 08:23 PM

It can be done.
The salty air will wreak havoc (read - rust) on the steel strings but you can take some precautions to limit this.
I'd carefully wipe down your strings with either rubbing alcohol or denatured before putting them back in their cases, taking care not to get the thinner on anything but the fret board.