SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Cruising & Liveaboard Forum (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/cruising-liveaboard-forum/)
-   -   So we're buying a boat. (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/cruising-liveaboard-forum/80835-so-were-buying-boat.html)

mathewsaunders 11-16-2011 01:33 PM

So we're buying a boat.

So, my girlfriend and I are paying off all of our bills, then selling everything to buy a sail boat and live on it, then sail around the world. We don't want to spend a lot on a boat, but we want one we could live on comfortably, and still take sailing across the world. Neither of us have any boating experience which is why we want to live on the boat next summer in the Okanagan, and practice as much as we possibly can.
So, I guess my question is, what kind of sailboat should we get?
Every time I search online, it asks if I want a daycruiser, racer, etc, but I have no idea what those are as I am completely new to this. Now, my girlfriend and I are minimalists and we just need something big enough for me her and our small dog. We do not need anything fancy, and we want to have to fix it up.
Any suggestions what kind of boat, or size, or year, or brand or anything at all would be greatly appreciated.

Mathew.

DRFerron 11-16-2011 01:49 PM

Hello Matthew.

My suggestion is to learn how to sail before making this type of major lifestyle change and investment in a boat. Take a class so that you learn your legal responsibilities as a boater. What if either of you decide that you don't particularly care for the lifestyle? Or hate sailing? Or hate the constant upkeep of a boat (believe me, it is never finished).

While it is fun and exciting for some, others may find that same fun and excitement stifling and unbearable.

Good luck with whatever you decide!

mathewsaunders 11-16-2011 02:04 PM

Thanks so much!