Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Familycruisers

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-27-2012

formerboatkid is on a distinguished road
Question Have you crossed the Atlantic?

Hi everyone,

I'm new here and haven't been on a boat forum in YEARS! To give you guys a bit of a background, I lived on a boat between the ages of 7 and 15 sailing around with my mum and dad (and then later just my Dad). Mainly around South America, Caribbean, etc, we did two Atlantic crossings during that time (in the mid 90s). My Dad is a shipwright and is now settled in Barcelona building boats and boat related things, and I'm now a landlubber and photographer.

In a lot of my photographic work, I explore the period of my childhood when we were travelling, because we took only about 4 photos the whole time, and I feel like that part of my life is missing. I only shoot on film, and more specifically on expired Polaroid film. It's beautiful stuff and is a bit weird due to expiry, but I now only have about 5 years to go before the film is dead (they don't make it anymore) - so, to cut a long story short, I'm looking to do what I can with it before it is too late.

I'm now in the VERY early stages of thinking about a big long term project that should take me towards the end of the film, and that is to do with sailing and superstition and specifically about yachties who disguise themselves when crossing the Atlantic, and other seafaring traditions.

I was wondering if any of you have done an Atlantic crossing, and if so did you disguise yourselves when crossing "the line"? We did, I was King Tutankhamun and Dad was Neptune, my Mum was a pirate and a guy we picked up in the Cape Verde called Isaac was Christopher Columbus... apparently lots of people used to do this.

If so - do you have any memories of this tradition of disguise, or are planning to do this on a future trip?