Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-12-2012

jslade8581 is on a distinguished road
JAX, FL to Norfolk, VA in December

So, I'm toying with the idea of sailing my boat from Jacksonville, FL to Norfolk, VA the second week or third week of December this year. I'm looking at going outside from Jacksonville, FL to Moorehead City, NC, then staying on the Intercoastal to Norfolk, VA.

I have a good bit of time to do this, but I was hoping it wouldn't take more than around 7 days. I'm budgeting about 10 days as a "just in case". The boat is 33'; I'm planning for pretty conservative numbers.

It's going to be my first "coastal cruise" and "overnight cruise" - in my sailboat. I'm an officer in the Navy, so safety, navigation, etc isn't what scares me - even night time (you do a few nights near some pirate havens and you learn to deal with little contacts all over the place). It's more of a what don't I know?

To mitigate some risks I'll be:
1. Renting a liferaft.
2. Hiring a USCG captain (sailboat delivery captain) to go with us for the Jax to Moorehead City leg. I'm hiring him for his experience, and for his capabilities - he and I will head up the watch teams.
3. Crew size is 4 total (Captain, dad, brother, me).

My biggest concerns include exposure, so I'm planning on dressing warm. Immersion suits were brought up, so that's high on my list as a possibility (I have my own heavy weather gear - would that be enough)? In terms of safety, the boat has had a lot of good work done, and she's in really great shape (she's 31 but she's doing well). I'll do preventative maintenance right before I leave (for the engine). Sails are all in good shape. Heavy weather gear is onboard (storm sail, para-anchor). Good medkit. We'll all keep on inflatable PFD and safety harness on deck, and we'll have jacklines rigged.