Not a Member? 

Like Tree5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-31-2012

captcore is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Skype™ to captcore
Medicine at Sea advice

All,

I am an EMT/FF (and half of a paramedic...I finish the class in October), and I have been asked to give a presentation next weekend about medical emergencies at sea and their treatment. I was also asked that class be geared towards those who do not have access to medevac (air support), as they are heading offshore.

My question is this: Keeping in mind that I AM NOT A DOCTOR (I stayed at a Holiday Inn once....well ok, it was an express), what ailments or injuries would you like to hear about? So far, I have dehydration, dislocations, sprains, and burns.

Any other suggestions?

Thanks

Capt Core

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
for all your captain needs.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-31-2012

capttb is on a distinguished road
Re: Medicine at Sea advice

Could be everything in "Emergency Care and Transportation of the Sick and Injured " but you need stopping bleeding and wound care, heat stroke/exhaustion and ABC basics, and choking.
Old 10-31-2012

Spirit of Freedom is on a distinguished road

And broken bones and concussions. Unfortunately too common offshore.
Old 10-31-2012
Bristol 45.5 - AiniA

killarney_sailor is on a distinguished road