SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

head problems

3K views 15 replies 11 participants last post by  Brent Swain 
#1 ·
has this happened to someone else? i have a jabsco hand pump head that has worked ok for the last year. 5 months ago put in a new rebuild kit and it was fine. last week someone used it to and took a big 'dump' and it wouldn't flush out. it would pump sea water in but flip the switch and it would not flush into the holding tank. holding tank is empty. i'm thinking the joker valve is being held open by crap and now it just sits there. is the only solution to take it apart, making a big mess and clean it out? dirty deal
i'm looking into an electric push button head for christmas, got the masicator an all

#2 ·
Unfortunately, I think you are correct in your assumption about the solution for your problem. Likely it comes down to a wad of toilet paper. We have a rule that NO toilet paper gets flushed. It goes into a small bag under the galley sink. Surprisingly, there is no smell from it.

You will need to disassemble and clear the joker valve and check all of the other valves in the pump assembly while you're at it. We replaced ours with a Lavac and been happy ever since. There are no small parts or flaps to fail, just a husky bilge pump.

#6 ·
I have both Lavac and the Thetford Tecma EasyFit Premium Plus (electric). I really like both although the Lavac I had to use a few times before I began to like it. The Lavac tends to use a lot of water and would fill the holding tank quick.
Everyone that come on the boat loves the Thetford Tecma EasyFit Premium Plus. Was not hard to install. If you are going with an electric head check out the Thetford products.

#7 ·
Have a spare jocker valve handy before you begin the inevitable. It could be torn.