SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Cruising & Liveaboard Forum (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/cruising-liveaboard-forum/)
-   -   Alternatives to buying your own boat (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/cruising-liveaboard-forum/96275-alternatives-buying-your-own-boat.html)

andifreed 02-01-2013 05:50 PM

Alternatives to buying your own boat

I'm new to sailing, but have been thinking about retiring and cruising around.

I was actually wondering if there are live aboard/cruise partnerships like you see advertised on craigslist for sailboat/slip. This would reduce the watch standing frequency; add more conversational topics; reduce the costs; provide a larger/better equipped boat, etc.

Has anyone tried this?
Where there issue creating/dissolving the partnership?
Did the boat prove too small? Personalities too antagonistic?
Did you organize it by destination (to the med and beyond), or just have discussions about where to go next.

DRFerron 02-01-2013 05:55 PM

Re: Alternatives to buying your own boat

Good evening. You might want to start with this thread:

http://www.sailnet.com/forums/genera...as-please.html

Also, if you Google Sailnet partnerships you'll come up with some more threads on the topic.

Best of luck and welcome to the world of sailing!

jsaronson 02-01-2013 06:01 PM

Andii,

Lots of options depending on where you are. JWorld offers boat sharing and there are probably others.

andifreed 02-01-2013 06:28 PM

Looked drferron's links and those looked like boat partnerships, that split up boat usage. Was looking for something more along the lines where the partners cruise together for extended period of time. Something slightly more secure than crewing out as a retired couple.

Capt.aaron 02-01-2013 06:49 PM