Windows7 as a Wifi hotspot - SailNet Community
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 03-12-2013 Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Zephyrhills, Fl.
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
 
Question Windows7 as a Wifi hotspot

Hi

Can any one tell me how to make my laptop a hot spot. I am not computer savy so I don't understand the way it's printed online. I have an external amplified antenna and I can pick up wifi but the wife's Kindle can not. (happy wife, Happy life) ;O) thanks
Steve Pike is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 03-12-2013
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 45
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 0
 
I'm not sure you can if that wifi is what's giving you an Internet connection. Afaik you can share a wired Internet connection via wifi and a wifi connection via wired connections but not a wifi connection via wifi.
br3nt is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
post #3 of 8 Old 03-12-2013
Reward for lost Kraken!
 
hellosailor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11,445
Thanks: 5
Thanked 131 Times in 128 Posts
Rep Power: 11
   
Re: Windows7 as a Wifi hotspot

Connectify Hotspot - The Wi-Fi Software Router for Windows PCs
This might do it.

It sounds like you are using Wifi on your PC to connect to the internet via a distant Wifi router that your wife's Kindle can't reach. Normally a hot spot uses a different connection (cellular or hard wired) to reach the internet and then only uses Wifi to feed local devices. You're trying to use the one same Wifi connection to accomplish both, and that may prove problematic.
hellosailor is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
post #4 of 8 Old 03-12-2013
Remember you're a womble
 
PaulinVictoria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sidney, BC
Posts: 2,101
Thanks: 10
Thanked 54 Times in 52 Posts
Rep Power: 6
 
Re: Windows7 as a Wifi hotspot

The Connectify thing should do the trick.

Orange Crush
1974 C&C27 MkII

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
PaulinVictoria is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
post #5 of 8 Old 03-14-2013 Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Zephyrhills, Fl.
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
 
Unhappy Re: Windows7 as a Wifi hotspot

well...sounded good... gave it a try.... it caused to many conflicts and I uninstalled it......thanks though it was worth a try.

Oh ya ... I downloaded free version. cant afford paid one.

Last edited by Steve Pike; 03-14-2013 at 10:46 AM. Reason: forgot to mention
Steve Pike is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
post #6 of 8 Old 03-22-2013
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: en route
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 6
 
Re: Windows7 as a Wifi hotspot

if you tinker around with the connectify it should work fine on windows7...i currently am using it to provide my girls iPad with the wifi signal i am picking up on the long range antenna....weve actually been using it with great success in the bahamas for a few months now....maybe uninstall/reinstall....every once and a while we have had to do that....oh and it is the free version
Dolby is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
post #7 of 8 Old 03-22-2013
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Deer Harbor, Washington
Posts: 215
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 7
 
Re: Windows7 as a Wifi hotspot

Windows comes with a utility called Internet Connection Sharing. If you are bringing the data in from the amplified antenna with Cat5 cable you could connect that to the Lan adaptor of the laptop then use the wireless adaptor to share the connection.
mitchbrown is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
post #8 of 8 Old 03-22-2013
4ksb specialist.
 
SHNOOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: East Stroudsburg, PA
Posts: 1,555
Thanks: 11
Thanked 71 Times in 67 Posts
Rep Power: 9
 
Re: Windows7 as a Wifi hotspot

Set up a computer-to-computer (ad hoc) network

Is this not working?

"Rum Line" an S2 7.9 - cheap, fast, trailerable, and paid for.
SHNOOL is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the SailNet Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Please note: After entering 3 characters a list of Usernames already in use will appear and the list will disappear once a valid Username is entered.


User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virgin Mobile MiFi 2200 Prepaid Mobile Hotspot TakeFive General Discussion (sailing related) 8 06-20-2012 06:29 PM
WiFi brokesailor Gear & Maintenance 4 12-02-2011 10:39 AM
Wifi jrd22 Gear & Maintenance 42 06-17-2009 12:51 PM
WiFi firstafair General Discussion (sailing related) 4 11-17-2007 02:34 PM
Wifi mallo Gear & Maintenance 3 03-21-2007 10:09 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome