SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Cruising & Liveaboard Forum (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/cruising-liveaboard-forum/)
-   -   do you carry an acoustic Guitar? (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/cruising-liveaboard-forum/97876-do-you-carry-acoustic-guitar.html)

vikingthunder 03-25-2013 08:50 PM

do you carry an acoustic Guitar?

if so, what do you do to maintain the proper Humidity levels to ensure that it does not swell/shrink and have major issues?

Faster 03-25-2013 09:06 PM

Re: do you carry an acoustic Guitar?

I'd suggest that if you're very concerned about those types of things that you get yourself a less expensive guitar for the boat.

I've never noticed an issue, though we have only kept the guitar on board during the summer months. But I'm not a virtuoso and don't have expensive guitars...

craigtoo 03-25-2013 09:07 PM

Hi, I'm a member here, but my day job is in the music industry.

I work for a company that makes these... Among many other products. Not trying to advertise, but to help out.

Normally, you'll have to worry about humid conditions. It's best to keep your instrument in a case when you're not playing it, and try to control the environment in the case.

Humidipak will regulate in either direction. However, in dry conditions also use another moisture adding device like a Guitar Humidifier so the pak doesn't dry out.

If its really wet conditions, (above 70% day after day) use a "dried out" humidipak in your case which will absorb moisture.

Again, keeping the guitar in a case when not in use will really help. Also, go to your local shop and learn how to make a truss rod adjustment because the neck will move. It's perfectly normal, I adjust many of my instruments every year to get the action right. It's routine and if you can do basic boat maintenance you can do basic guitar maintenance. Wood moves with trends in humidity...