Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising and Sailing with Children
 Not a Member? 

Cruising and Sailing with Children All things sailing and kids related, from safety to life aboard.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-21-2002

sailteachr is on a distinguished road
Sailing With Infants?

I am a sailing instructor in Puget Sound. I just had my first baby and was looking for advice from fellow sailors on how to best sail with a three month old little girl. I would probably be sailing with my partner who is really not much of a sailor, but wants to learn, on a boat in the 34-38 foot range. I am capable of singlehanding the boat so I really don''t need to worry about how to handle that end but I would really appreciate any advice on how to help both the baby and her mom to have a good time. Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 02-22-2002

bporter is on a distinguished road
Sailing With Infants?

With our daughter, who was a March baby, we took her out the first summer with no trouble. The only real hassle was getting her in to a PFD for the trip out to the mooring, but that wasn''t too bad as she seemed to tolerate it well, all things considered.

In our experience newborns are easier than toddlers; at least they stay where you put them and don''t try and climb around when you''re heeling.

We had a portable car seat that we brought along. This snugged in nicely down below in a space between the table and the port settee, and the handle could be kept up to provide lateral stability. The motion of the boat generally put her to sleep pretty quickly. For feeding my wife could go down below with her, or we could come up with a bottle.

I had always figured to rig up comething with a car seat and a seat belt from a car, but never really found the need for anything that fancy. A simple removable car seat that could double as a carrier did the trick.